NBSA Season 2015-16

NBSA Season 2014-15

NBSA Season 2013-14

NBSA Season 2012-13

Important Message

This website is now only a read only archive of Nottingham Snooker results, photos and videos.  Detailed results are available from season 2007/08 to the end of the winter season 2015/16.  For fixtures, results etc. for the summer 2016 season onwards, please visit the new NBSA website.

To visit the new NBSA website, click on the link below:


You should be able to log in to the new website using your username and password from this site.

Author Topic: Notts Under 21 Snooker Championship (21/04/13)  (Read 1670 times)


  • Guest

Congratulations to Sean Hopkin on winning the Notts Amateur Junior Snooker Championship.  Hopkin defeated two time defending champion Toby Simpson by 3 frames to nil in the final.

Sean Hopkin with the famous trophy

Both Hopkin and Simpson had been playing well all day, both battling in various matches to stay alive in the tournament with some sublime snooker.

Runner-up Toby Simpson

It was a fantastic days snooker at Beeston Snooker Hall with all of the competitors playing to a high standard all day. There were plenty of breaks and some brilliant comebacks.

Joe Reynolds

The competition was played using a group format, with the first and second placed players getting to fight it out for the fantastic trophy over the best of five frames final. All group games were best of three.

Tom Goldstein

Frames of the day were between Joe Reynolds and Thomas Goldstein with Reynolds making a fine 60 break, only for Goldstein to almost clear the table in response with a brilliant 59, Goldstein just missing the final black. Also, Hopkin and Troy Brett had a similar frame with Hopkin in first with 54, only for Brett to clear with 56.

Troy Brett

Highest break of the day also went to Hopkin with a fine 62 in his first match.

Group Games:
Sean Hopkin   2   v   0   Joe Reynolds
Toby Simpson   1   v   2   Troy Brett
Joe Reynolds   0   v   2   Toby Simpson
Thomas Goldstein   1   v   2   Sean Hopkin
Toby Simpson   2   v   1   Thomas Goldstein
Troy Brett   1   v   2   Joe Reynolds
Thomas Goldstein   2   v   1   Troy Brett
Sean Hopkin   1   v   2   Toby Simpson
Troy Brett   1   v   2   Sean Hopkin
Joe Reynolds   1   v   2   Thomas Goldstein

         P      W      D      L      F      A      Pts   
   Sean Hopkin      4      3      0      1      7      4      6   
   Toby Simpson      4      3      0      1      7      4      6   
   Thomas Goldstein      4      2      0      2      6      6      4   
   Troy Brett      4      1      0      3      5      7      2   
   Joe Reynolds      4      1      0      3      3      7      2   

Hopkin 62, 56, 54, 42, 34
Simpson 54, 46, 30
Brett 56, 35
Goldstein 59, 58, 53, 45, 40
Reynolds 60

Many thanks to Kathleen and the staff at Beeston for an excellent day yet again, the tables were lovely and the staff really friendly and helpful.

Steve Butler

  • Administrator
  • *****
Re: Notts Under 21 Snooker Championship (21/04/13)
« Reply #1 on: 23/04/13, 12:33 »
Congratulations to Sean Hopkin for going one better than last year and winning this prestigious event for the first time.  It was always going to be difficult for Toby to win it three years in a row, but he certainly gave it a good go.

I managed to pop along for an hour or so and I witnessed some terrific snooker from all five competitors.  They were all a credit to Nottingham Snooker.

I took a few photographs whilst I was there and you can view them in the gallery HERE.